The Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes

When I was young, I remember reading a book called The Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes by Du Bose Heyward. I loved it. I don’t know why – something just resonated with me. The book is about a little girl country bunny who dreams of being an Easter  bunny for THE Easter Bunny, but the other rabbits told her that she could never be an Easter bunny.

She should just go home. Eventually, the Country Bunny has a home and 21 bunny babies and is too busy to think about being an Easter bunny.

One day a message goes out that The Easter Bunny is getting older and needs a new Easter bunny. The other rabbits laugh at her, but she impresses The Easter Bunny with her ability to manage such a large family. She shows him that she is quick and intelligent and organized.  And so this simple, quiet bunny becomes the newest Easter bunny.

The job is more difficult and exhausting than she ever thought, but she accomplishes the job in the end with the help of some magical little gold shoes that The Easter Bunny gives her. She delivers the last egg in time to hop home with a basket of eggs for her own children.

I can’t remember when it hit me, but I realized that I’m the Country Bunny (minus the stylin’ dress and the organized home, of course). I think what I love most about the book is that the Country Bunny isn’t trying to be someone she’s not. She’s a mom who loves her home and family and simply follows a dream.

That’s what my blog is about.

4 thoughts on “The Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes

Leave a Reply

