What’s For Dinner

That is the question that has plagued me for nearly 25 years of marriage. I love dinners that can be eaten with no preparation. I don’t even want to have to get in the car or order online. Of course, this limits the menu to cold cereal and store-bought cookies.

Years ago, my husband came home from work and asked what was for dinner. I must have been having a bad day, because I didn’t look up from the TV.  I just held the half-eaten bag of mini Reeces Peanut Butter Cups in the air.

I can cook and I have a number of meals that always taste good. Lets see: tacos, spaghetti, chicken soup, beef stroganoff, sausage and peppers, waffles, pancakes (pretty much anything from Bisquick)….. Hmm, I thought there were more than that.

Lately, though, I been branching out. Last Spring, I was browsing at the now defunct Borders and happened across The Pioneer Woman Cooks by Ree Drummond. Oh my gosh, step-by-step instructions with pictures! I felt inspired! Now, I can’t say that I’ve jumped in like a participant in the Polar Bear Plunge. More like dipping in a toe then running back to a warm towel.

I’ve been using allrecipes.com lately. I like being able to make something that’s been tried and reviewed by other cooks. That way I know it’s going to taste good. Yesterday my girls found this recipe for Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic Recipe

We didn’t have any mushrooms and my bay leaves had gone awol, but it turned out yummy. (Next time I would use a little less vinegar, but the kids liked it as is.)

Apparently, you can teach an old dog new tricks. (Wait…did I just call myself an old dog?)

Leave a Reply

