52 Weeks To An Organized Home

I’ve lived in three homes since I’ve been married and in each one, there has been some version of this disaster. The victim is always the countertop closest to the dining area. No matter how big or small the space, the carnage spreads to the edge. See that ‘Cuties’ box? That’s been there since Christmas. It’s holding items whose home is in another room of the house. The ‘Cuties’ box isn’t so cute anymore.

Last Sunday, I determined to solve this problem once and for all. I’ve cleared the counter before, but it eventually fills back up again. I realize the problem isn’t the “stuff” as much as I don’t have a plan or system for dealing with the stuff that inevitably finds its way to the kitchen.

Since my prior attempts to corral the clutter have failed, I searched for new ideas and came across this challenge: 52 Weeks To An Organized Home. Even though the challenge began in October, you can start anytime. After you click the link, just scroll down the page and beginĀ Week #1 Kitchen organization: countertops and sink.

Now, I’ll be honest. The thought crossed my mind to get a big laundry basket, slide the whole mess into it, hide the basket in a closet and pat myself on the back. But no, I’m determined to do it right. I sorted. I tossed. I shouted at kids to come get their junk. I only have a small basket left of some items to return to the store (assuming I can find the receipts), and I’m done.

Here’s the finished product.

Oh my gosh! It’s a thing of beauty!!!

3 thoughts on “52 Weeks To An Organized Home

Leave a Reply

