Banana Bread

Ignore that burned looking corner. I would never burn my baked goods. I have to much respect for them.

I  was craving banana bread on Sunday. After I started, I realized I had enough overripe bananas to make another batch. My kids don’t like nuts in anything, sooooo…..I added a cup of pecans to the next batch. That means I can eat the whole batch by myself!! I didn’t though. I took a little loaf to work today, and my coworkers inhaled it. They make me feel so good about my baking.

I got this recipe from a family friend. She’s the sweetest woman I’ve ever met. She’s the kind of woman who comes into town and delivers little loaves of banana bread while she’s running errands. I finally ditched the recipe I’d always used after my kids raved about hers. Enjoy!

Banana Bread

1 c. sugar

1/2 c. salted butter, softened

2 eggs

3 T. sour cream or plain yogurt

1 t. vanilla

1 t. baking soda

2 c. flour

3 large ripe bananas – mashed

Stir dry ingredients together and set aside. Cream sugar and butter together. Add eggs, sour cream (or yogurt), and vanilla. Alternately mix in dry ingredients and banana.

Spray bottom of 2 loaf pans with PAM. Pour batter into pans and spread evenly.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes

Notes:

The original recipe calls for 1 t. salt. I usually have salted butter on hand so I just omit the salt. If you use unsalted butter, be sure to add the salt.

If you’ve never mashed bananas, you can use a pastry blender or my favorite, the food processor.

I divided the batter between 2 loaf pans because I don’t like how dark banana bread gets when it cooks longer in one pan. It makes to kinda flat loaves. That’s just my preference, so you could certainly bake it in one pan.

When I use little loaf pans, it makes four little loaves. Again, you could just divide the batter between two little pans.

Add 1 cup of pecans or walnuts if you don’t want to share with nut haters.

My son made the cutting board for me in shop class. I love it!!
4 thoughts on “Banana Bread

      • I absolutely agree that the eggs are better! However – when our chickens first started laying I would use the eggs when baking, but I absolutely could not eat them, they just tasted so different it freaked me out. But I got over that pretty fast!

  1. Yes I am new to the blog site and thank you for taking the time to look. Funny but I think it was about the 14th I also made Banana Nut bread. Must be something in the air.

Leave a Reply

