Blogging Observations

I’ve been blogging for almost a month now and have made a personal observation. I’ve consistently read other blogs before, but never made any comments or followed a blog. Recently I discovered that it’s much easier to keep up with blogs if I just follow them. But here’s the rub…I feel a bit like a stalker. If I make a comment or follow a very popular and well known blog, I know I won’t stand out, but on a relatively new blog, I’m noticeable.

Is there some type of blog etiquette I should know about? Is there a line you can cross with comments where you go from being interested to sounding like….well, a stalker? Personally, I like it when readers make lots of sincere comments on my blog. It’s fun. But maybe not everyone feels that way.

All this just to say that I only make a comment or ‘like’ a blog if I really mean it. Whew…glad I got that off my chest.

A picture of my daughter's bunny. Just because.
3 thoughts on “Blogging Observations

  1. Personally, I feel the same. I have stumbled across a couple of blogs that I really wanted to hit “follow” on but I completely felt like a stalker. Mostly because they were very personal and/or about something I don’t know very well. BUT as someone who has received comments from you- I look forward to reading them, sometimes I worry you don’t see my response.
    And in response to my last post – Hanoverian’s are amazing horses – they have good looks and a good brain, great style ove jumps. They make ideal hunter/jumpers. How long has you daughter been riding??

    • Thanks so much. I read all of your responses to my comments. But…not wanting to appear stalkerish, I don’t comment on your reply. I think if we’re going to continue with this blogging endeavor, we’re going to have to overcome some fears. I’m am really enjoying getting to know you, bit by bit, through your posts.

      My daughter has been taking lessons for just a month. Her trainer lives just down the road and gives her lessons at the house. My husband wants to learn to ride too and just bought a saddle for himself. I, on the other hand, don’t think I could even pull myself into a saddle. Doesn’t that require coordination or something? 🙂

  2. I’m new to blogging, but I’ve done a lot of reading on the topic. IMHO, social media is meant to be exactly that – social! As you know, bloggers spend a lot of time writing their posts and it’s great to get feedback and from there, build online relationships. If you like a blog, support the blogger and tell them so! I can’t imagine anyone who wouldn’t appreciate that. And some blogs that I’ve looked at (unfortunately not mine YET) have some great comments (discussions) that are really interesting and thought provoking.

    Your blog is great – keep it up!

Leave a Reply

