Fudgy Chocolate Cake

I think I should write a cookbook titled “The Insomniac Baker” since I made it at 12:30 at night (or was it really the morning). I got this recipe off the back of the Hershey’s Cocoa box. Hershey’s calls it “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake, but I think my title is more descriptive of how the cake turns out. It is sooooo yummy and easy to make. Just put all the ingredients into a bowl and mix. Easy peasy.

Fudgy Chocolate Cake

2 c. sugar

1 3/4 all-purpose flour

3/4 c. cocoa

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1 c. milk

1/2 c. vegetable oil

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. boiling water

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray two 9 inch round baking pans with PAM. See notes below.

Combine dry ingredients in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water. (This will make the batter thin, but don’t worry. It’s supposed to be that way.)

Pour into pans.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes. Remove from pans to wire racks.  This cake is delicious served warm.

Notes:

I don’t layer this cake because it’s fudgy and kind of sticky.  Usually I just cut and serve it straight out of the pan.   I spray the sides and use parchment paper on the bottom if I plan to get the cake out of the pan.

Serve it with powdered sugar sprinkled on top or best yet – fresh whipped cream. Mmmmmmm! Fudgy Wudgy!!


2 thoughts on “Fudgy Chocolate Cake

  1. Ok, I totally need this now. And I’m off to bed. One things I love best about your house is that it always has the lingering scent of something sweet baked with love and drool.

Leave a Reply

