The Grass Is Always Greener

I know when I’m working more than I want because I start daydreaming about being a stay-at-home mom again. I spend  more and more time perusing cute blogs with pictures of domestic bliss. You know, beautifully decorated and CLEAN rooms where happy children are enjoying one on one time with Mom as they create craft projects or bake together. I imagine having dinner prepared every night at just the right time so we can all eat together before running off to activities. There would be warm cookies from the oven when the kids get home. The birds would sing and the sun would always shine. Oh, sorry, I really got carried away. You get the picture, I think.

Then I remember why I went back to school and got a job. I remember how exciting it is to learn new things. I look back at how much confidence and independence I’ve gained. I’m happy that I’ve been able to help realize dreams for myself and family such as buying our little farm house with land for my husband, helping one daughter pay for college and another get her very own horse.

So I guess this post is saying the way to avoid ‘the greener grass syndrome’ is gratitude. Tonight in my prayers I will thank Heavenly Father for guiding me to a job where I can get my CPA license without working the demanding hours that public accounting would have required. I will thank Him that I have family close by that pitches in and helps me juggle career and home. I will thank Him for a husband who takes on new responsibilities like grocery shopping, making appointments, driving kids to orthodontic appointments, and even making dinner on occasion. (Those chicken enchiladas were delicious, honey!)

My heart feels lighter already!

 

 

Leave a Reply

