I’m Not Forgetful, I’m Excercising

This is what I tell myself after my third trip upstairs. It goes kind of like this:

Sleep in for an hour after the alarm rings. (Why do I keep setting the alarm for 5:45 a.m.? I never get up.)

Shower, dress, makeup.

Carefully make my way down the stairs. (The steps at the top of the stairs are deceptively narrow. I wonder if they are original to the house – before building codes required the crazy rule of each step being identical and deep enough for your foot.)

Eat a quick bowl of Rice Chex then run back up the U-shaped stairway to brush my teeth.

Walk down the stairs, sliding right hand down the handrail.

Realize I need socks to wear with my boots.

Run back up the stairs.

Grab thick, white socks from my son’s room. Head downstairs again.

Look for my scarf.

Run back up the stairs.

Grab flowered scarf and take a moment to reminisce that it’s the same scarf I wore during my interview for my last job. Run down the stairs. Who has time for the handrail at this point.

Congratulate myself for exercising and drive to work instead of taking the lightrail so I won’t be late.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “I’m Not Forgetful, I’m Excercising

Leave a Reply

