Life Is Too Short to Be Unhappy

Quick recap of the last 3 months: Start new job, keep telling myself it will get better,  get super stressed out and depressed, quit new job, go back to old job, discover happiness again.

Ok, that was the Reader’s Digest version, but thankfully it leaves out all the gory details. (Well, maybe not gory. I’m an accountant after all, not a cop like my husband.) So what did I learn? Sometimes it takes getting what I want to realize that I don’t really want it. I didn’t know until this experience that I value happiness over almost everything else.

My family learned that what they want is a happy mom and wife. It’s been two weeks since I went back to my old job. (Can I say how thankful I am that my position hadn’t been filled?) A couple of days ago after talking about my day, my son asked, “Are you happy now, Mom?” When I gave him a big, genuine YES, he replied, “I’m glad.”

 

7 thoughts on “Life Is Too Short to Be Unhappy

  1. So glad you were able to figure that out quickly. Happiness it really the best thing in life. My sister left a very stressful job for less money (many years ago) but became SO MUCH happier with the change and loved life again.

  2. Awesome! Congratulations to you and your family. I had a feeling that your lack of blogging had to do with unhappiness. Selfishly, I was just glad to see a blog from you again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

