New Hobby

One of my favorite ways to kill time when I’m supposed to be doing something productive is to look at furniture painting blogs. I enjoy painting (rooms, not art) and have been wanting to try this popular hobby. My first project was an armoire that I painted red. I’ll search for pictures and post them later. I used regular latex paint for that, but I’ve really been wanting to try chalk paint. I found an antique store across the border in Washington that sells Annie Sloan Chalk Paint and paid a ridiculous amount of money for it. (Brace yourself….$38.50 for a quart. I know, I know. I just wanted to be like all the other crafty, painting girls.)

 

So here we go:  Today’s project is a buffet I picked up at the above mentioned antique store.

IMG_0417       IMG_0418

IMG_0419       IMG_0415

The only prep was sanding down a couple of  spots on the top to smooth the transition from the raw wood to the finished area.

IMG_0421         IMG_0423

 

I chose Old White. It’s pretty thick so I thought I should thin it down a bit with water. Notice that I’m using a pencil for a stir stick? I grabbed the first thing I could find.

IMG_0424         IMG_0429

I forget how long my daughter helped before she decided that the fun had become work.

It’s funny the imperfections you see once there’s a coat of paint on. I noticed that there was a piece of tape on the front. I peeled it off, but then the dresser needed a second coat for sure.

IMG_0427        IMG_0428

When I was finished, I could tell there was a problem. Chalk paint is supposed to cover in one coat. I probably shouldn’t have thinned it. Too much of the wood was showing through. I ended up painting another, unthinned coat, but the top of the buffet still didn’t look right. I could tell the difference between the wood that was raw and the wood with the finish on it. I lightly sanded the paint, vacuumed the dresser, and proceeded to the step that you’re not supposed to have to do:

Primer.  I dug through the garage then painted a coat of sandable primer on the top. Another light sanding, vacuuming, and wiping down with an old t-shirt. One last coat of ASCP on the top and things were looking good!

DSCN1595          DSCN1594

DSCN1593          DSCN1592

I used a fine sanding sponge to distress the edges. I sanded extra around the holes where I still need to add knobs and pulls. That’s what’s so great about chalk paint. It’s super easy to distress. The paint comes off in a fine, chalky powder.

After vacuuming and wiping the dresser down again, I rubbed Annie Sloan Clear Wax over everything. I did an extra coat on the top. I think when I rubbed the wax in that it took some of the paint off. It actually helped give the buffet some  depth and dimension.

Here she is. She just needs to accessorize with some hardware.
Here she is. She just needs to accessorize with some hardware.

 

While doing this project I realized how much my husband loves me. The dresser stood in the middle of the living room with the drawers spread around on a drop cloth over the entire weekend. Not one complaint.  A few days into the next week, my husband helped me drag it into the kitchen because the lighting was better. I then proceeded to fill the kitchen with dust and fumes as I sanded and waxed.

In the end it was all worth it because my family thinks my little buffet is cute. Aaaw!

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “New Hobby

  1. I LOVE it. I wanted to use milk paint when I painted Scotty’s baby dresser 9 years ago. I definately did not have the money then. I love the way it looks especially with the wax finish. Nicely done. I love how adorable your furnishings are. You are so brave!

  2. I am so impressed! I, too, have wanted to try something like this. Never heard of ASCP – but will search for it (and courage) for a project. Great tips and advice. Love the pictures. Thank you so much for an inspriring post. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the post about my paint. Quite an improvement ! Just thought I’d say that I recommend waxing after painting then distressing it with the sandpaper if you want a more gentle aged look..I often add water if the paint is thick but maybe you added too much! I hope you find lots of other things to paint as you should have paint over!

    • You’re right on both counts. I did add too much water when I thinned the paint, and I do have lots of left over. I’m already looking forward to other projects. I will definitely try waxing first then distressing on the next one. Thanks for commenting and the helpful suggestions!

  4. Hello from France. I see a lot of posts on chalk paint or milk paint but I do not know what it is! I should invest in a English-French DIY and Home improvement dictionary I think. Congratulations on your nice blog.

Leave a Reply

